Lay Me by the Shore

Introducing a young cast of first time actors, ‘Lay Me by the Shore’ follows a week in the life of Noah, a high school senior in his final days of school as he comes to terms with his best friend’s passing. Bathed in the warm light of long June days and with the intimidating spectre of an unknown future looming, the tale is told from the perspective of the recently departed and, through the prism of grief, highlights the raw, potent emotions of youth.

Credits / Collaborators / Cast

Starring Isla Pouliot & Kai Smith
Written & Directed by David Findlay
Inspired by the Music of The White Birch (Ola Fløttum)
Produced by Joaquin Cardoner

Cinematographer Evan Prosofsky
Editor Alexander Farah
Production Designer Kathleen Cooper
Sound Designer Mitchell Allen

Executive Producers Sultan Al Saud, Evan Landry
Co-Producers Nicolas Tiry, Aline Meyerhoffer, Neel Gupta
Associate Producers Philippe Widmer, Max De Pfyffer, Michael Kuna

With Brennan Smart, Aslan Campbell, Tait Jordan, Mary Alef, Jacob Milton, Quinn Bovell, Elyse Farmer, Dylan Macauley, Luca Jacoe, Amadou Bella Diallo, Julian Pineda, Caleb Richmond, Paul Snider, Vivi Harder, Demelza Randall, Ian Kim, Austin de St Croix, Sylvain Rousseau, Brittany Charlston, Gwenna Cooper, Kalayna Kozak, Sam deBock, Nicky Lee Evans, Christopher Evans, Vincent Delorme, Halia Hirniak, Ethan Chao, Sam Gilling, Asaad Al Arid, Charles Booth, Krystal Issa, Lyall Woznesensky, Debbie Woznesensky, Scott Girling, Maria Lefebvre, Aggie Cheung, Jodie Bartman, Anthony Curtis, Nicholas Chase, Mathew King

Casting by Kris Woznesensky & Kara Eide
Casting Associate James Kirk

Production Manager Angelica Stirpe
1st AD (mvp) Nano Clow
2nd AD Dide Su Bilgin

Colourist Sam Gilling
1st AC Jared Boyce
2nd AC Chris Merrell
Loader Angelo Daniele
Steadicam Operator Peter Park
2nd unit DP Jeremy Cox
2nd unit 1st AC Cody Preston

Gaffer Greg Goudreau
add’l Gaffers Torbin Doege & Adrianna Hankins
Genny Op Ben Graham
Key Grip Andriy Lyskov
Grips Benedict Dawson, Jan Schädle Ubeda, Greg Sisson, Rob Hastings

Art Director/Man of the Year Jordan Macken
Art Department Justin Macken, Sebastian Cerani, Chino Cando, Myra Gimenes
Stylist Nina Maidment
Style Assists Jordan Campbell, Nina Cheb-Terrab, Samantha Green

Music Supervisor Dondrea Erauw
VFX Evan Graves & David McDonald
Stunt Coordinator Owen Walstrom
Stunt Driver Brennan Walstrom
Kayak Instructor Kiah Schaepe

Sound Mix Harry Knazan – OSO
Sound Recordist Jjuan Marcos Percy
Production Coordinator Sydney Robertson
Key Production Assistant Grayson Lang
Production Assistants


Genre: Drama / Coming of Age
Country: Canada
Language: English
Length in minutes: 19
YEAR: 2022